bringing change and understanding

bringing change and understanding

Celebrating the 25th Anniversary of Australia’s First Women Deacons

The year 1986 was an auspicious occasion, during that year Australia’s first women deacons were ordained in the dioceses of Melbourne, Tasmania, Perth and North Queensland.

Eight women – Marjorie McGregor, Mary Elizabeth Alfred, Angela Carter, Olive Dyson, Kay Goldsworthy, Carlie Hannah, Bessie Pereira and Kate Prowd – were ordained on Sunday 9 February 1986 at St Paul’s Cathedral, Melbourne.

Among these eight women Elizabeth Alfred, retired and then aged 72 had been a deaconess for 42 years. Kate Prowd, on the other hand was fresh from theological college, ordained alongside her classmates as a matter of course. There was a second ordination of women deacons in Melbourne on May 9 1986, because the numbers were too great for one service.

Three women, Marie Kingston, Elvie Fraser and Rosemary Perrett were later ordained deacon in Tasmania on 24 February.

In Perth the first three women, Jenny Hall, Joyce Polson and Anna Cullen were ordained as deacon on March 1st.

In 1992 Kay Goldswothy was among the first women to be ordained as priest in Perth and in 2008 became Australia’s first woman to be consecrated as a bishop.

So, there is plenty of reason to celebrate in 2011.

Women in Ministry

Blessing, Forgiving, Preaching: Australian Anglicans Celebrate Thirty Years of Women Priests

In 2022, the Rev’d Dr Lesley McLean, President of MOW, noted that, all over Australia dioceses, parishes, small groups and…

Read More

The Rev Alison Cheek

The Rev. Alison Cheek, one of the first female priests in The Episcopal Church and the first to publicly celebrate…

Read More

Sarah MacNeil

Rain welcomes new bishop at her consecration THE heavens opened up as worshippers spilled out of the Christ Church Cathedral…

Read More

Cedar Prest Windows

  A St Peter’s Cathedral Adelaide Tour Guide presents a talk about one of its stained glass windows. This is…

Read More

St Hilda of Whitby

St Peter’s Cathedral Adelaide presents a talk about one of its stained glass windows. This is one of a series…

Read More

Angela Burdett-Coutts

St Peter’s Cathedral Adelaide presents a talk about one of its stained glass windows. T his is one of a…

Read More

Julia Farr and the Melanesian Mission

“Unpretending labours”: Julia Farr and the Melanesian Mission: Paper by Janet Crawford presented at the First Biennial TransTasman Conference ANZ Missionaries,…

Read More

Jan Malpas

Jan retired from the MOW Board at the 2020 AGM. Here is what she wrote about her involvement in the…

Read More

Kay Goldsworthy Archbishop of Perth

A TRAILBLAZER for three decades, Bishop Kay Goldsworthy is accustomed to “firsts” and smashing through the “stained glass ceiling”. She…

Read More

‘Behold I Make All Things New’

Sydney MOW  hosted a public lecture by Rt Rev Genieve Blackwell, with the theme “Behold, I Make All Things New!”….

Read More


President: Elaine Lindsay
Vice-President(s): Ann Edwards
Collen O'Reilly AM
Secretary: Sandra Kjellgren
Treasurer: Kathleen Toal
General Representative(s): Danni Clark, Melissa Conway, Tanja Hagedorn, Karen Terpstra
Sydney MOW Convenor: Ruth Champion